google992e17e2e457984e.html about | strohmarketeiren

© Strohmarketerien 2018 | all rights reserved

straw marquetry

restoration | manufacture

ABOUT

One of only a few specialists for straw world wide.

Transforming straw into gold - as a child that seemed absolutely impossible to me. Every time I heard the fairytale of Rumpelstiltskin who helped the young miller daughter spinning straw into gold, I knew: That must be wizardry. I would have never dreamed that it really is possible to transform such an omnipresent and unremarkable material into precious objects of gold shining grace.

 

​But when I caught sight of straw marquetry for the first time made by straw casket maker Hering, which did not loose any of its gloss after 300 years, I excitedly reminisced about the fairytale. What a gorgeous play of light in the shimmering straws generated by their gleam! How bright the colors were in the inner of the caskets after all this time! And all of it assembled by a very skillful hand to delicate pictures. From that point on straw marquetry didn't let me go again.

 

Enthusiastically I discovered more and more objects that were so finely made, that they only could be presented in cabinets of wonder or must have been made for wealthy art lovers. But also less exquisite pieces possess the appealing aura that straw marquetry radiates. Their omnipresence at all times in history - since they occurred in the 17th century - and made by so many different people in such distinguishing ways shows that straw marquetry was common and popular in all social classes at all times. When I produce and restore straw marquetry today, the thought that I am keeping a centuries old craftsmanship alive, preserving the objects for coming generations and testifying to the lives of the past is an everlasting inspiration.

Vita

2018             Foundation of straw marquetry - restoration | manufacture 

2017              Publication in the exhibition catalog „Stroh - so kostbar wie Gold“ (straw

                      - as precious as gold) for the same-titled exhibition at the St. Annen-Museum

2016             Master thesis: „A casket decorated with straw marquetry from the St.

                     Annen-Museum in Lübeck - Technological examination and development

                     of a conservation and restoration concept"

                     Honored at the Post-Doc prize as one of the best final papers

2013             Bachelor thesis: „Examination of the coherence between the electrical

                     conductivity of a surface and the electrical conductivity of cleaning

                     solutions applied on it"

2012             Working seven month at the Rijksmuseum Amsterdam

 

since 2011      Self-employed restorer 

2008 - 2010   Internship as preparation for my studies at the Berlin restoration 

                      enterprise Boris Kabanadze

google992e17e2e457984e.html About | strohmarketeiren

© Strohmarketerien 2018 | all rights reserved

Strohmarketerien

Restaurierung | Fertigung

ABOUT

Eine der wenigen Strohspezialisten weltweit.

Stroh zu Gold machen - das kam mir als Kind vollkommen unmöglich vor. Jedes Mal, wenn ich das Märchen von Rumpelstilzchen hörte, das der jungen Müllerstocher half Stroh zu Gold zu spinnen, war mir klar: Das muss Zauberei sein. Niemals hätte ich mir träumen lassen, dass es tatsächlich möglich ist dieses allgegenwärtige, unscheinbare Material in Kostbarkeiten von goldglänzender Anmut zu verwandeln.

 

Als ich sehr viel später jedoch zum ersten Mal Strohmarketerien vom Strohschachtelmacher Hering zu Gesicht bekam, die auch nach knapp 300 Jahren kaum etwas von ihrem Glanz eingebüßt hatten, musste ich fasziniert an das Märchen zurückdenken. Was für ein prächtiges Lichtspiel die changierenden Halme mit ihrem schimmernden Glanz erzeugten! Wie leuchtend die Farben im Inneren der Kästchen und Schächtelchen strahlten! Und all dies von kunstfertiger Hand zu feinen Gemälden zusammengefügt. Von da an ließen mich Strohmarketerien nicht mehr los.

 

Voller Begeisterung entdeckte ich immer neue Objekte, die so kunstvoll gefertigt sind, dass sie nur in Kunst- und Wunderkammern gestanden haben können oder für wohlhabende Kunstliebhaber gefertigt worden sein müssen. Doch auch weniger exquisite Stücke besitzen die reizvolle Aura, die von Strohmarketerien ausgeht. Ihre Allgegenwärtigkeit zu allen Zeiten - seit sie im frühen 17. Jahrhundert aufkamen - und dabei von so unterschiedlichen Menschen auf so unterschiedliche Weise hergestellt worden sind, zeigt, dass Strohmarketerien stets in allen Gesellschaftsschichten gefragt und gebräuchlich waren. Wenn ich heute Strohmarketerien anfertige und restauriere, dann beflügelt mich der Gedanke ein Jahrhunderte altes Handwerk am Leben zu halten und die Objekte, die vom Leben dieser Menschen zeugen, für kommenden Generationen zu bewahren. 

Vita

2018             Gründung Strohmarketerien - Restaurierung | Fertigung 

2017             Publikation im Ausstellungskatalog „Stroh - so kostbar wie Gold“ zur

gleichnamigen Ausstellung im St. Annen-Museum

2016             Master-Thesis: „Ein Strohmarketerie-Kästchen aus dem St. Annen-

                     Museum in Lübeck Technologische Untersuchung und Erstellung eines

                     Konservierungs- und Restaurierungskonzeptes“

                     Beim Post-Doc Preis 2017 als eine der besten Abschlussarbeiten geehrt

2013             Bachelor-Thesis: „Untersuchung des Zusammenhangs der elektrischen

                     Leitfähigkeit von Oberflächen und der elektrischen Leitfähigkeit darauf

                     angewendeter Reinigungslösungen“

2012             siebenmonatige Tätigkeit im Rijksmuseum Amsterdam

 

seit 2011        selbstständige Restauratorin

2008 - 2010   Studienvorbereitendes Praktikum im Berliner Restaurierungsbetrieb Boris

Kabanadze